Healthy Snacking

I recently decided that I wanted to watch what I eat, because I am going to be on a beach for spring break in six short weeks! I am trying to limit my calorie intake to 1,600 per day. (It’s so hard cause I love chocolate!!!) Today when I came home from the gym, I went to my go to snack – peanut butter toast. I was looking at the peanut butter jar while I was waiting for my toast, and found out there are 190 calories in two little tablespoons of peanut butter! I then took it upon myself to look at the wheat bread I was toasting and it had 70 calories in that. That’s 260 of my 1,600 in just one snack!

I figured there must be a lower calorie alternative to this tasty treat. And guess what– there is!! I am going to show you how to make a 40 calorie snack, compared to the previous 260.

Step 1: Take one can of salted almonds and throw them into a reliable blender. I used a Ninja!IMG_0012.jpg

Step 2: Blend the CRAP out of them. It will literally take forever. You have to push the sides down every 30 seconds or so. It will take around ten minutes to turn the almonds into a thick paste.

Step 3: Voila! Homemade, healthy, delicious, almond butter! Four calories per serving.

IMG_0022.jpg

Instead of wheat toast, I chose a lightly salted, 35 calorie, rice cake. Amazing!

IMG_0021.jpg

I hope you enjoy! Look for a fitness post coming in the next week or two!

xo,

Molly

follow my instagram

 

 

Leave a Reply

